Chapter 1. Setting the Agenda for the Next Thirty Minutes

What I took from the reading is that it’s really important to make a plan for a tutoring session and that you share it with the tutee. I really like that William J. Macauley, Jr. adds how important it is for the tutor to collaborate with the tutee on this plan; sometimes the tutee knows what their trying to achieve better than the tutor. Macauley’s map is flexible and can be abandoned if it’s not helping the session. His last piece of advice to let the tutee take the map home also resonated with me because the tutor can’t do it all and our truest goal is to empower the tutee to be able to succeed on their own once they leave us.

I don’t necessarily have any questions, but my reaction to his motorcycle metaphor from Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance made me realize that I haven’t always been the best with explicitly setting out the agendas with some of my tutees and that not doing so is a disservice to them. Most of the time I like to at least verbally discuss what they would like to work on and try to match that up with what I think they need to work on, but I think keeping track of it visually will tremendously help the tutee and me.

Leave a comment